Italy announces 26-man squad for Euro 2020

ROME, June 1 (Xinhua) -- Italy announced its final 26-man squad for the Euro 2020 on Tuesday, as Gianluca Mancini, Matteo Pessina and Matteo Politano missed the trip to the prestigious competition, while starlet Giacomo Raspadori returned.

Head coach Roberto Mancini listed a provisional 33-man squad in May and whittled it down to 28 last Sunday, and needed to make it 26 before the deadline.

As a result, Roma defender Gianluca Mancini, Atalanta midfielder Matteo Pessina and Napoli winger Matteo Politano were left out, Sassuolo striker Raspadori who was once excluded from the 28-player roster stepped in.

In the final list, goalkeepers Gianluigi Donnarumma, Alex Meret , Salvatore Sirigu were called up, veterans Giorgio Chiellini and Leonardo Bonucci led the defense-line, Nicolo Barella and Marco Verratti were among the midfielders while strikers Ciro Immobile and Lorenzo Insigne got the nods without any doubts.

Italy will take on the Czech Republic on June 4, in their last warm-up clash before the opening match of Euro 2020 against Turkey on June 11.

Following is Italy's full Euro 2020 squad:

Goalkeepers: 21 Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan), 26 Alex Meret (Napoli), 1 Salvatore Sirigu (Torino);

Defenders: 15 Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), 23 Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), 19 Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), 3 Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), 2 Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), 13 Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea), 24 Alessandro Florenzi (Paris Saint-Germain), 4 Leonardo Spinazzola (Roma), 25 Rafael Toloi (Atalanta);

Midfielders: 18 Nicolo Barella (Inter), 16 Bryan Cristante (Roma), 8 Frello Jorge Luiz Jorginho (Chelsea), 5 Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), 7 Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), 12 Stefano Sensi (Inter), 6 Marco Verratti (Paris Saint-Germain);

Forwards: 9 Andrea Belotti (Torino), 11 Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), 20 Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), 14 Federico Chiesa (Juventus), 17 Ciro Immobile (Lazio), 10 Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), 22 Giacomo Raspadori (Sassuolo).

[ Editor: WPY ]